Structure of the CLIB-Graduate Cluster

The CLIB-Graduate Cluster Industrial Biotechnology comprises university teachers, fellows and associate students at three universities:

  • Bielefeld University
  • TU Dortmund University
  • University of Duesseldorf

Board of the CLIB-Graduate Cluster

Speakers from each university make up the executive board:

from Bielefeld University
Prof. Dr. Alfred Pühler, Prof. Dr. Volker Wendisch and Prof. Dr. Karsten Niehaus

from TU Dortmund University
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Schembecker and Prof. Dr. Andreas Schmid

from University of Duesseldorf
Prof. Dr. Jörg Pietruszka and Prof. Dr. Karl-Erich Jaeger

Chairman Prof. Dr. Jörg Pietruskza

Vice-Chairman (Research) Prof. Dr. Volker Wendisch

Vice-Chairman (Teaching) Prof. Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Schembecker


At each university, several professors, university teachers and group leaders make up the faculty at that location. The faculty makes decisions about admission into the CLIB-Graduate Cluster.


Doctoral students of the CLIB-Graduate Cluster can either be fellows, supported by a grant from the Cluster or associate students with outside funding. All are admitted into the cluster only after a selection process.

Coordination team

Four coordinators work together to organise the day-to-day running of the Graduate Cluster. They are based at the three universities and at CLIB2021.

at Bielefeld University
Dr. Iris Brune

at TU Dortmund University
Dr. Evamaria Gruchattka

at University of Duesseldorf
Dr. Sonja Meyer zu Berstenhorst

at CLIB2021
Dr. Tatjana M. E. Schwabe

Advisory Board - funding

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jochen Büchs

Prof. Dr. Andreas Liese

Prof. Dr. Christoph Wittmann

Advisory Board - research and industry collaboration

The advisory board of the Cluster Industrial Biotechnology CLIB2021 advises the CLIB-GC on matters of research focus and industrial collaboration.


The CLIB-Graduate Cluster is funded by the three universities Bielefeld, Dortmund and Duesseldorf and by the Ministry of Innovation, Science and Research of the federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia (MIWF).